- Meet Ted
- Media Galleries
- Contact Me
- Sign up for my newsletter
BAY CITY NEWS: New Law - Out-Of-State Sex Offenders Must Register in Calif Under Lieu-coauthored Bill
October 03, 2011
Garrido Case Cited As Example For Law's Necessity
SACRAMENTO, Calif. -- Out-of-state sex offenders will now be required to register in California under new legislation signed by Gov. Jerry Brown.
The bill, SB 622, requires out-of-state sex offenders to register upon moving to California, according to the office of senate Majority Leader Ellen M. Corbett, D-San Leandro.
"This new law will help make everyone a little safer by ensuring out-of-state sex offenders are subject to the same sex offender registration requirements, and are publicly known, as in-state offenders are," Corbett said in a statement.
Corbett's office sited Phillip Garrido as an example of an out-of-state sex offender who moved to California and committed another sexual crime. Garrido was sentenced to 431 years in prison for kidnapping 11-year-old Jaycee Dugard and holding her captive for 18 years.
Corbett's office said the legislation passed the senate with unanimous approval and will take effect Jan. 1, 2012.
The legislation was co-authored by Corbett, Sens. Elaine Alquist, D-San Jose, Tom Berryhill, R-Modesto, Ted Lieu, D-Torrance, and Assemblyman Paul Cook, R-Yucaipa.
- Bay City News Service