In the News

SAN DIEGO UNION TRIBUNE: PAY-PHONE COST WARNINGS BILL ADVANCES IN CALIFORNIA SENATE Some troops using credit, debit cards got bills for $41 per minute

May 12, 2013
MICHAEL GARDNER, U-T
Sacramento

Legislation that aims to end surprise hefty bills for using credit or debit cards at pay phones appears to be on course to reach Gov. Jerry Brown's desk.

The measure — growing in part out of litigation involving a San Diego-area company and military troops using pay phones at an airport in Germany — unanimously passed the state Senate last week.

TORRANCE DAILY BREEZE: State Senate OKs Ted Lieu ’s ‘swatting’ bill

May 10, 2013

A South Bay lawmaker’s bill to increase penalties for false 9-1-1 calls designed to prompt a huge police response to the homes of celebrities — a practice known as “swatting” — passed the state Senate on a unanimous vote Thursday.

Under the bill by Sen. Ted Lieu , D-Redondo Beach, anyone convicted of making a false report would be forced to pay for the costs of the episode. Lieu said the restitution could be as much as $10,000. The legislation now moves to the Assembly.

KPCC SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA PUBLIC RADIO: California senators pass 'swatting' bill increasing fines for prank callers

May 10, 2013

By Ashley Bailey

The California State Senate voted unanimously Thursday to pass a bill that hikes the fines a person would have to pay for making a false 9-1-1 call.

LOS ANGELES TIMES: California Senate approves anti-'swatting' bill

May 09, 2013

By Patrick McGreevy

SACRAMENTO -- Alarmed by a growing number of hoax 911 calls known as “swatting,” the California Senate approved a measure Thursday that would significantly increase the financial penalty for those convicted of making false reports.

NBC-TV 7 SAN DIEGO: Most Districts Don't Review School Drill Documentation

May 07, 2013

By By Wendy Fry and Rory Devine
District officials with more than half of the 42 school districts in San Diego County said they do not collect and review official school safety drill reports from their individual school sites.

And by law, they don’t have to review them.

LOS ANGELES TIMES: California Senate acts on pay phone rates

May 07, 2013

The Senate approved SB 50, which requires California pay phones to have signs warning those using credit or debit cards of the total costs, and allow for fines of up to $50,000 for violations.

EVERYDAY HEALTH: FDA Proposes Cancer Warnings on Tanning Beds

May 06, 2013

A new FDA proposal would require all tanning beds to carry a warning label indicating they increase the risk of skin cancer, and that they are dangerous for kids under 18.